How Much is an Uncontested Divorce in Florida

How Much is an Uncontested Divorce
in Florida

Usually, divorce costs fall into two categories: mandatory court-filing fees and legal fees associated with the preparation of divorce papers and resolution of divorce-related issues. The cost of a divorce in Florida can range from less than $500 to over $100,000, depending on the specifics of your case.

Let's discuss approximate divorce costs when a couple meets the state's residency requirements in Florida and is in complete agreement concerning custody, child support, parenting time, alimony, and division of marital property.

Uncontested Divorce With Children

When it comes to an uncontested divorce, spouses should not have any ongoing disputes regarding:

  • how they will share custody, parenting time, visitation, and parenting responsibilities
  • the amount and duration of child support and alimony
  • the division of marital assets.

In turn, the cost of uncontested divorce with children does not significantly differ from the cost of an amicable marriage dissolution without them. Considering that both parties agree on the issues mentioned above, there is no need to hire a divorce attorney and spend a vast amount of money on their services.

However, a judge can order a custody evaluation or counseling as a part of the divorce. This assessment is usually made up of a few different elements, including interviews with both parents and their children.

After the evaluation, the assigned mental health expert will submit a final written report to the court covering their findings and recommendations. Most often, the cost of this service varies from $4,500 to $15,000.

To avoid these expenses, make sure to act in the child's best interests. In this case, the cost of uncontested divorce with children will be:

  • Around $500 if you prepare divorce documents without a lawyer.
  • Around $650 if you complete divorce forms using online divorce services.
  • Nearly $3,000 - $5,000 if you use a divorce law attorney's services.

Cost of Uncontested Divorce Without Children

If divorcing partners do not have minor children, they can apply for a relatively easy divorce, known as a "Simplified Dissolution of Marriage" in Florida. At the same time, they will have to meet other requirements, such as:

  • the wife must not be pregnant at the time of filing,
  • at least one of the spouses has been a legal resident of the state for a minimum of six months,
  • there are no disagreements about the division of assets and debts,
  • no spousal support is requested, and
  • both parties agree that the marriage is irretrievably broken.

The cost of a simplified dissolution of marriage is similar to the cost of a regular uncontested divorce, as it also includes mandatory court fees. At the same time, simplified dissolution of marriage is way less time-consuming, which is why it is often used by Florida residents who have minor children.

Spouses without children can complete a Petition for Simplified Dissolution and other papers independently. However, they can also hire well-experienced attorneys to advise them on divorce-related issues, affidavits and/or a settlement agreement, etc.

Thus, the cost of an uncontested divorce without children can range from $500 up to $5,000, depending on the type of services spouses use.

Uncontested Divorce Cost Without Lawyer

A DIY divorce (the type of divorce that can be processed without the aid of an attorney) is a 100% legit way of terminating a marriage in Florida. It is a perfectly suitable option for cases where:

  • Both parties are on good terms and mutually agree to get divorced.
  • Both spouses agree on all or most of the terms of their divorce.
  • Neither party blames the other spouse for the marriage failure.
  • There are no minor children, or there is a complete agreement on child-related issues.
  • Neither spouse depends on the other for financial support.

The more of these requirements are fulfilled, the more likely it is that partners will be able to get divorced without a lawyer's legal assistance.

When applying for a divorce without a lawyer in Florida, a couple should be prepared to spend money on court filing fees, preparation of divorce papers (optional), and serving the spouse with divorce paperwork (optional).

In the context of filing fees, this payment is mandatory for all residents of this state seeking a divorce. Currently, it varies around $350 - $410, depending on the county where divorce documents are filed.

At the same time, if paying those fees is a considerable financial burden, you can always ask the court to have your filing fees waived by submitting the Application for Determination of Civil Indigent Status. If this document is approved, you can file for divorce free of charge.

Besides, when calculating the cost of divorce without an attorney, it is essential to consider the money needed to hire a process server or a county sheriff to serve your spouse.

On average, this fee varies from around $50 - $100. But this payment is not mandatory, as you can inform your partner that legal action is taken against them by asking anyone over 18 who is not a party to the case, to do it for free.

Plus, keep in mind that some counties might charge you about $12 - $15 for self-representation.

As for the preparation of divorce forms, people going through a DIY divorce can handle this task on their own or use online divorce services (approximately $200 - $400 for the whole packet of completed divorce forms). The second option significantly helps reduce stress caused by legal paperwork.

Therefore, to sum up, if you apply for a marriage termination without an attorney, the court filing fee will most likely become your highest expense.

How Much Does a Lawyer Cost for Uncontested Divorce

Most divorce attorneys charge between $260 and $330 per hour in Florida, although this payment can differ depending on their professional experience and location.

If you hire a lawyer, they can help you complete appropriate divorce papers and provide legal advice to make sure your rights are protected. In the end, a typical uncontested divorce with the legal assistance of an attorney will cost around $2,000 - $5,000 in Florida.

Uncontested Divorce Online

Thanks to rapidly improving online technology, there are many new innovations and revolutionary projects in modern society. For instance, people seeking a peaceful divorce can use online divorce services, thereby significantly simplifying preparation for the divorce process.

With Online Florida Divorce, residents of Florida can prepare necessary divorce forms over the Internet at their own pace. Our platform is so easy to use that there is no need to have a solid legal background to generate up-to-date documents that comply with local laws and requirements.

All you have to do is fill out a simple marriage-related questionnaire on our website and follow further step-by-step instructions. Within two business days, you can download a full packet of necessary divorce documents, along with a clear filing guide, for as little as $159.

The main benefits associated with online divorce services are as follows:

1. It may reduce costs.
The online divorce costs can range from $159 – $500 in total, whereas the preparation of divorce forms with the help of a well-experienced attorney can cost several thousand dollars.

2. It is a very time-saving option.
Unlike lawyers who need at least 1-2 weeks to generate divorce documents, online divorce services usually handle this task in two business days.

3. It is less stressful.
With online tools, couples have full control over the process of preparing divorce paperwork. What's more, they don't need to puzzle over legal terminology.

4. It is very convenient.
There is no need to attend multiple unnecessary meetings with lawyers or take any time off of work, as divorce forms can be completed without leaving home.

Here’s how our process works.
Looks complicated?
Get your hassle-free divorce
Qualify for divorce1
Provide your case details2
Get your papers3
File for divorce4